fresh eyes

This is what Lake Merritt looks like from the side I rarely visit:

It’s lovely, right? I live between the center of the photo and the big brick building on the left side. That is the side of the lake I usually see. This photo was taken from the sculpture garden at the Oakland Museum, which is gorgeous and free to the public and completely taken for granted by me.

An old friend came into town this weekend and suddenly I had the opportunity to play tour guide and tourist in my own town. You know something? I loved it. I defend Oakland tooth and nail against anybody who calls her names, but I’d started taking her for granted. A couple days of wandering, of showing off hidden pathways and guerrilla art, and just like that I’m actively back in love.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

